I don’t want to love [song]

I spent my last day of 2014 in a tiny apartment in the periphery of Paris with my best friend. We came up with a song. I wrote the lyrics and she the music. It’s about how people become illusions when they are far away, and how it feels like to be in a long-distance relationship, especially you are needy by nature.

[Insert title here]

We had the moment
Long walk on the beach
Ride across the city
The world faded away
Only you and I stayed

Why do we feel
So we get hurt
Why do we love
Only to go separate ways

Feeling creature
Chaotic heart
I don’t want to love
Kissing the shadows of the past
I don’t want to love

Reaching from a distance
You’re like an illusion
I can’t sense you
Come back to me
Nothing is more real
Than the touch of your skin

Feeling creature
Chaotic heart
I don’t want to love
Kissing the shadows of the past
I don’t want to love

Wish I could teleport myself
Wish our love were transcendent
But this isn’t a sci-fi movie
And we’re just humans
Tied to the mundane world

Feeling creature
Chaotic heart
I don’t want to love
Kissing the shadows of the past
I don’t want to love
(True love sucks.)

Feeling creature
Chaotic heart.

Leave a Reply

